The Spice must flow ...

Moderators: Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ, Omphalos

Ziggy

The Spice must flow ...

Post by Ziggy »

As a chemist, I thought it would be fun project to translate the image of the Spice molecule from DE into a molecular modelling package. Turned out to be a lot of work and have corrected some errors in the original e.g. removing the erroneous extra copper atom in the porphyrin moiety. Then I performed a simple semi-empirical geometry optimisation on the structure, since a full quantum calculation would literally take months on a desktop machine. Nevertheless, thought you guys might like to see. Of course the claim in the DE is that this is merely a monomer unit but easy to imagine this structure repeated in a chain. Have shown a few different views in tube, ball & spoke and space-fill format, with the latter being the most veridical.

Not an obsessive Dune fan at all … :roll:
georgiedenbro

Re: The Spice must flow ...

Post by georgiedenbro »

Wish I could understand what any of that means. Nice images, though :)
"um-m-m-ah-h-h-hm-m-m-m!"
Serkanner
Administrator

Post by Serkanner »

georgiedenbro wrote:Wish I could understand what any of that means. Nice images, though :)
So do I .. :lol:

Very cool images indeed.
"... the mystery of life isn't a problem to solve but a reality to experience."

“There is no escape—we pay for the violence of our ancestors.”

Sandrider: "Keith went to Bobo's for a weekend of drinking, watched some DVDs,
and wrote a Dune Novel."
Ziggy

Post by Ziggy »