Where did Frank learn his linquistics?

Moderators: Omphalos, Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ

Kensai

Where did Frank learn his linquistics?

Post by Kensai »

Reading Children of Dune at the moment. Leto and Ghanima comunicate in one of the "ancient languages". I'm no linquistic expert but it seems to be anciant Egyptian seeing as they refer to the language's orginators feared Isis (or somthing along those lines). Also makes sense seeing as Leto conversed with Harum in GEOD who was an anciant Egyptian King?

Frank wrote Dune in the days before the internet, when if you wanted to know something you trawled through a library or asked somone who knew. Where did he accumulate these obscure tidbits of information?

I'm going to go back to the chapter tonight so I will get the exact quotation (if one of you dosen't before me).
Survival is the ultimate ideology Image
SandChigger
KJASF Ground Zero

Re: Where did Frank learn his linquistics?

Post by SandChigger »

The language is supposed to be Ancient Egyptian but it's all reconstruction with a LOT of guesswork. I'm just guessing on this, but at that time FH probably referred to the works of E. A. Wallis Budge, which have largely been superseded since then. Barring time travel or "time eavesdropping", we'll never know what the language really sounded like.
SadisticCynic

Post by SadisticCynic »

This naturally raises the old question of how you pronounce Secher Nbiw (sp?).
Ah English, the language where pretty much any word can have any meaning! - A Thing of Eternity
Freakzilla
Lead Singer and Driver of the Winnebego

Post by Freakzilla »

SadisticCynic wrote:This naturally raises the old question of how you pronounce Secher Nbiw (sp?).
I try not to.
Paul of Dune was so bad it gave me a seizure that dislocated both of my shoulders and prolapsed my anus.
~Pink Snowman
Omphalos
Inglorious Bastard

Post by Omphalos »

SadisticCynic wrote:This naturally raises the old question of how you pronounce Secher Nbiw (sp?).