Global Economic Crisis: Should I be afraid?

Moderators: Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ, Omphalos

Nebiros

Global Economic Crisis: Should I be afraid?

Post by Nebiros »

Since January of this year there has been a lot on a global economic crisis.

In America I hear of a housing crisis, a weak dollar, rising oil prices and a fear of a recession.

I hear about Banks in Britain and the US closing or being saved by the government.

Around the world, I hear of again rising food prices, rising oil prices and an economic crisis here in Asia as a result of the weak US dollar.

I'm no expert on the stock market, and the numbers with the red and green arrows on the evening news are utterly meaningless to me.

I don't need to worry about rising food prices because by most standards I am rich and don't need to cut back. However I should be concerned for the poor and middle class because the food prices will affect them. As for oil, well I walk to work and perhaps I should use public transport more to not go over budget. So I'm not really worried.

Those red arrows on TV do not scare me. Financial experts say that the economy will recover by next year. Global warming I am afraid of but not the economic woes of today. Yet I keep hearing about it on the news. So should somebody like me really be afraid? And is anyone in this forum afraid?
Freakzilla
Lead Singer and Driver of the Winnebego

Post by Freakzilla »

REPENT! THE END IS NIGH!
Paul of Dune was so bad it gave me a seizure that dislocated both of my shoulders and prolapsed my anus.
~Pink Snowman
Spicelon

Post by Spicelon »

If you're an American, get used to the New World Order. The dollar won't be
bouncing back any time soon, if ever. Don't be surprised if you see more big
US corporations a la Anheuser-Bush get bought out.
Poop is funny.
MetaCugel8262 is not.
Omphalos
Inglorious Bastard

Post by Omphalos »