Acetone in Gas

Moderators: ᴶᵛᵀᴬ, Omphalos, Freakzilla

Dune Nerd

Acetone in Gas

Post by Dune Nerd »

I don't know if anyone has heard of this or not but I was asked at work the other day about adding acetone to gas from a gas station to get better fuel mileage.

I wasn't sure about it so I went and had some tests done (i am a test engineer so this is the only way I can convince myself of anything). The results were jaw dropping. With acetone added to the tank the emissions of Hydrocarbons dropped by at least 40%. I have the data sheets which I will upload shortly.

At first I thought this was one of those internet hoaxes but when the data showed up I was impressed. I have an old 87 thunderbird that I will be trying this out on before I do it with all of my vehicles I will let everyone know what the results are. Wanted to pass the info along and see what everyone thought...

Discuss...
Nekhrun
Icelandic Wiener

Re: Acetone in Gas

Post by Nekhrun »

Dune Nerd wrote:Discuss...
I think there are some great ideas out there about fuel additives to increase mileage. My fear is that it will take my vehicle out of fuel specifications and nullify my warranty.
HoosierDaddy

Post by HoosierDaddy »

This is interesting. One article I read stated an increase in fuel economy as well. And we are not talking about a lot of acetone here, just a few ounces per tankful.

So this begs the question: If the data shows fewer emissions and better gas mileage, why hasn't anybody screamed bloody murder at the oil industry and the governments of the world?

I'm betting this is a hoax.
A Thing of Eternity

Post by A Thing of Eternity »

if you really want to lower emissions the thing to add is sugar. Gets you right down to zero emissions real quick. :wink: :wink: :wink:
Nekhrun
Icelandic Wiener

Post by Nekhrun »

A Thing of Eternity wrote:if you really want to lower emissions the thing to add is sugar. Gets you right down to zero emissions real quick. :wink: :wink: :wink: