Another Musical Instrument Question

Moderators: Omphalos, Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ

Sandwurm88
Not Soleman

Another Musical Instrument Question

Post by Sandwurm88 »

Last time I asked for advice about purchasing a new part on my drum set, I was surprised with the knowledge of the musically inclined people here, thanks again!
My question now has to do with guitar; I've been playing bass for seven years, drums for two years, and recently I've been thinking about giving up bass, and "moving on up" to six-string guitar, which is a more complex instrument to play, but you can also go more places musically with it. One thing is, everybody who plays an instrument in my school, around where I live, plays guitar, obviously because it has more allure to people, with the crazy solos, out in front, pulling the chicks rock-star thing, while bass is more laid back, keeping the rhythm going, as is drums, with the exception of a solo here or there. So if I played guitar, I would probably just be "another guitar player", while, as a bass player, I get a lot of band offers, because I'm the only bassist around pretty much. And I like playing in bands much more than just playing alone.

So A) what would you recommend I do, and B) what kind of guitar should I aim to get down the line, I'd be interested to know your opinions in all of these, which have all piqued my interest:

Fender Stratocaster
Fender Telecaster
Gibson Les Paul
Gibson Explorer
Gibson ES-335
Gretsch White Falcon (This thing seems so awesome everytime I seen one being played)
Paul Reed Smith Studio Model (I've heard alternatively that these are either overrated, hyped-up, mega-expensive guitars for guys in turtleneck sweaters who like better to drone on about guitars, than to actually make some rock with them, AND that they are the best guitars in the business, vastly superior to Strats and Les Pauls, etc. from different people. )
Omphalos
Inglorious Bastard

Re: Another Musical Instrument Question

Post by Omphalos »