Dune: Total War

Moderators: Omphalos, Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ

TheDarkEmperor

Dune: Total War

Post by TheDarkEmperor »

So,
I have recently started reading the Dune series after watching the movie (and although I liked it, I knew I was missing out), so far I am in love with the series.
My plans include me going through media design school in order to put myself into the video game making community.
At the moment I am a very amateur writer and therefore I like to categories and sort ideas very mechanically.

I have had an idea to make a mod for one of the very popular Total War games by Creative Assembly, based on the Dune Series.
I wish to base this off of the true Dune mythos, meaning I would like to put myself as far away from the film and the games as possible (as fun as they are).
My problem is that I don't know enough about Dune to flesh-out a game.

I am thinking for the main factions to be the main Landsraad houses (Atreides, Harkonnen, Corrino) but I would like to also include the other prominent factions and even maybe delve into to different time periods.
My only standing problem is I don't have enough to base off of in terms of units.

I would love to get any feed back or help and would appreciate it GREATLY.
Naïve mind

Re: Dune: Total War

Post by Naïve mind »

Warfare in the Dune universe is an interesting subject. On one hand, technology has advanced quite a bit beyond ours. Most notably, gravity (and friction) nullification seems to be possible (and cheap), they have shields capable of absorbing kinetic force, and they have laser guns. On the other hand, there are several major constraints.

The Holtzmann effect