New to this forum

Moderators: Omphalos, Freakzilla, ᴶᵛᵀᴬ

artistagent116

New to this forum

Post by artistagent116 »

I've usually been a "token" female amongst other Dune groupies........why is that? Is geekdom generally reserved for men? Don't get mad - I said "generally". I'm a Star Wars geek, also.......but not a Trekkie. I am an artist (a painter), mother and grandmother ---see! How many grandmothers do you know who are Sci Fi fans? I live with my hubby in South Central Indiana.

Me - In high school (in the 70s) my friends were reading LORD OF THE RINGS but it didn't sound like something I'd get into, so I picked up Dune. I've read the original 6 in order about 6 or 7 times over the years. My hubby and daughter don't understand why. Isn't it funny how you become so immersed in the Duniverse that you find yourself applying FH's terminology to your own life? Example: I just had the adab, the unbidden memory. Though, I've never felt the need to recite the Litany Against Fear. Like a lot of you, I've been phoned from more than one bar by more than one person with a Dune or SW trivia question no one there could answer.

I did read the o-t-h-e-r Dune novels. I am a purist, though and wasn't overly impressed. But I can say that I've read them. They did not expand my perception of the Dune universe however, I didn't permit them to. They didn't feel "Frank-Herbert-y".

My favorite book of the series? COD. Why? I guess it's because we're already imprinted with Dune's history, the Fremen, the principal characters, the political goings-on, and such - and now we're into the souls of this story's inhabitants.

Does anyone else wonder what the Caladian whales look like with all that fur? I'd love to see one.

Well, it's been nice meeting you. I hope this is mutually beneficial
It's 2010 for cryin' out loud!! Where's my flying car ??!!??
SandRider
Watermaster

Re: New to this forum

Post by SandRider »

can't help it, gotta say it ....

spidey-sense .... tingling ...